Spiced Eggnog Cupcakes with Spiced Eggnog Butter Cream Frosting

I love cooking. More specifically, I love baking cupcakes. There’s something so relaxing about creating those mini delights. I’m also a bit of a control freak so I find the control cooking and baking gives me especially relaxing when I’m stressed out. The end result of my de-stressing activity is pretty great, cupcakes just put everyone in a better mood and no one can be mean to someone when they’re giving away delicious cupcakes.

This week was the first week back to school and boy, did I hit the ground running this semester. On top of my usual assigned readings and other assignments, my resume and cover letters to law firms and nonprofits were due this week for summer internships. Needless to say, I was stressed and found myself taking an hour break to bake these little masterpieces.

While I love baking, I also don’t have the time bake everything from scratch so finding shortcuts makes my life so much easier. This recipe was adapted from the Baker’s Royale recipe.

Now, I realize it’s January and it’s not really eggnog “season” anymore, but why not use up the remaining eggnog that’s hiding in your fridge and whip up a batch of these guys?

EGGNOG CUPCAKES WITH SPICED EGGNOG BUTTER CREAM FROSTING

Eggnog Cupcakes

Ingredients-

Cupcakes
1 box vanilla or white cake mix
Follow the measurements according to the box with the following exceptions:
Add eggs per box directions
Replace oil with melted butter (usually 1/2 cup or 1/3 cup)
Replace the water with eggnog (usually 1 1/2 cups) + 3 tablespoons
Add:
2 teaspoons nutmeg (or allspice)
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Frosting
1 cup butter, softened (but not melted)
3-4 cups powdered sugar
1/4 teaspoon table salt
1 tablespoon cream of tartar
1 teaspoon nutmeg (allspice will also work)
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
3-5 tablespoons eggnog
1 tablespoon spiced rum

Instructions-

Cupcakes
Follow the box directions

Frosting
Beat butter for a few minutes with a mixer with the paddle attachment on medium speed
Gradually add powdered sugar and turn your mixer on the lowest speed (so the sugar doesn’t blow everywhere) until all the sugar has been incorporated with the butter
Add vanilla extract, salt, rum, and 3 tablespoons of eggnog and beat for 3 minutes
If your frosting is runny, add remaining sugar – if it needs to be thinned add additional eggnog 1 tablespoon at a time

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

