Pasta Primavera

I attempted to make ratatouille about 3 ½ years ago. It didn’t turn out well. I didn’t read the directions as thoroughly as I *ahem* should’ve and it turned out “rubbery” according to my fiancé (now husband). Since then I’ve found a different recipe that makes uhh-mazing ratatouille every time, however Kenneth still hates ratatouille and continues to blame my very first failed attempt, so I’ve resolved to only make it when he’s gone for the weekend for drill. There’s something so great about ratatouille that makes me feel like I’m eating healthy, but it’s still comforting and delicious.

Anyways, I found a way to sort of sneak in a ratatouille-like recipe in the guise of pasta primavera. Unfortunately for me, Kenneth isn’t dumb and caught on to my plan pretty quick. He still ate it. Now I share my “sneaky” attempt with you!

#semisneakywifeFTW.

Ingredients:

  • 1 box of whole wheat penne pasta4 cloves of garlic, pressed or diced
  • 1 eggplant (you can use ½ an eggplant, I just really love eggplant), cubed
  • 1 sliced zucchini
  • 1 sliced yellow squash
  • ½ a diced orange bell pepper (you can use any color)
  • 4-6 sliced mushrooms
  • 1/2 a diced onion
  • ¼ cup sun-dried tomatoes
  • About ¼ cup Olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon red chili peppers
  • 2-3 teaspoons Italian seasonings
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • ¼ cup grated Parmesan

Directions:

  1. Bring a pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Cook the pasta in boiling water until cooked yet firm to the bite, about 11 minutes; drain, and set aside.
  2. Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add garlic and sauté for a couple minutes
  3. Add (one at a time) the veggies. Wait a few minutes between adding the next “group” so you allow each one proper time to cook and avoid the veggies from becoming “rubbery”
    1. Starting with the eggplant after a couple minutes add your zucchini and squash, followed by the bell pepper, then the onion, add mushrooms, and finally add the sun-dried tomato (total cook time is around 15 minutes depending on your stove)
    2. Keep your olive oil on hand, you may need to add more as you cook the veggies, eggplant has a tendency to absorb it!
  4. Mix with pasta, add red peppers, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper, and grated parmesan cheese

Note:
If your significant other is as picky as mine, I can usually get away with making this if I toss in some chopped grilled or sautéed chicken. He complains less if something died in order to make his food.

Bon appétit my friends!

IMG_1947

FullSizeRender

Leave a Reply

