Margherita Chicken with Roasted Eggplant, Mushrooms, and Kale

Have any of you heard law school sucks? I heard it before I came here. I didn’t believe anyone’s law school horror story. I thought they were exaggerating or couldn’t manage their time or whatever. Well, they were right. Law school kinda sucks and it keeps you really, really busy.

As usual, that leads me into my “I like good, healthy food that’s is fast and semi-easy to make” rant. So…here it goes!

I usually prep everything when I get home in the afternoon from class and spend the rest of my time -studying until it gets closer to dinner. Everything is baked at 350 degrees, which makes this recipe fantastic since you can start your chicken, wait about 10 minutes and then add your kale and eggplant/mushrooms to the oven. I love it when all of dinner is done at the same time. I feel like for a brief moment I have my life together and I didn’t make a horrible mistake by going to law school.

Actually, I just like eating hot non-microwaved food…and law school isn’t that bad. However, that may be the Stockholm syndrome talking…

Margherita Chicken

Ingredients
Margherita Chicken

  • 3 chicken breasts, thawed
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 teaspoon red chili peppers
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasonings
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 tomato (I used a Roma tomato), diced – reserve until the last 5 minutes of cook time
  • 6 fresh basil leaves, chopped or ripped up – reserve until the last 5 minutes of cook time

Eggplant and Mushrooms

  • 1 eggplant, skin removed and diced
  • 6 whole mushrooms
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • ½ teaspoon chili peppers
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasonings
  • 1 teaspoon garlic salt
  • Salt & pepper to taste

Roasted Kale

  • About half a bag of kale
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon red chili peppers
  • ½ teaspoon garlic salt
  • Salt & pepper to taste

Directions
Chicken

  • Place the chicken in a casserole dish and drizzle the olive oil and balsamic vinegar on it, sprinkle the garlic and seasonings
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes, add the reserved tomatoes and basil, bake for another 5 minutes

Eggplant and Mushrooms

  • Peel the skin off the eggplant and dice it. Slice the mushrooms and place on a large baking sheet (I use a jelly-roll pan)
  • Drizzle the olive oil and sprinkles spices onto eggplant and mushroom mixture
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes

Roasted Kale

  • Place kale on a jelly-roll pan, drizzle olive oil and sprinkle spices
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes
Leave a Reply

