Crock Pot Pesto Chicken with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

Crock Pots are amazing. Apparently they were invented in the 1960s by a guy named Irving Naxon (thanks Google). Unfortunately, he passed away before I was born, otherwise I’d kiss him for his brilliant invention. I’ve been relying on mine a lot since I started law school. I found it’s easier to prep it the night before and stick it in the fridge until the morning. All I need to do before I run out the door is pop the pot in its cooking element and off I go.

Coming home to dinner being (a) DONE and (b) contained in one pot is one of the best feelings. It allows me to feel lazy, productive, and domestic simultaneously. In other words, it’s bliss. Especially since this is a “dump and go” recipe. You don’t even have to thaw your chicken!

When I made this, I was running late for class, so I threw some ingredients together and hoped for the best as I headed out the door for classes. I’m pleased to say it turned out really well! Kenneth only said a two sentences the whole time he was eating, “This is really good, you need to make it again!” and “You need to post this on your blog!”

So, here it is!

I served this with rotini pasta and a salad, but you can serve it with whatever sounds good. This foodie don’t judge.

Ingredients

  • 3 chicken breasts (frozen or thawed, cook’s choice)
  • 1 cup pesto
  • ½ cup sun-dried tomatoes
  • 4 pressed or diced cloves of garlic
  • Red chili peppers (to taste)
  • Italian seasonings (to taste)
  • Salt and pepper (you guessed it, to taste)
  • Parmesan cheese (optional) to sprinkle on top

Directions

  1. Throw everything into your glorious crock pot, set on low for 7 hours. Go about your day like an awesome person who knows dinner is ready when they walk through the door.
    (The outside of the pesto turns a weird color when you first take the lid off (refer to the photo below), just stir it and it looks and tastes great)

 Pesto Chicken

Pesto Chicken2 Pesto Chicken3

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

