Fluffy Oven Pancakes

Brunch is honestly my favorite meal. Period. Lucky for me, I found a husband who equally loves brunch. Before we moved and I started school we used to spend our lazy days off in sweats at our local IHOP or whatever breakfast place closest to us. Heck, in my wedding vows, I vowed to never stop getting brunch. Maybe I’m a little too obsessed…but I don’t think it’s possible when there’s carbs and crispy bacon involved.

When I was growing up my parents always made breakfast for us on the weekends. It was fairly predictable – Saturdays we’d have eggs, bacon, and orange juice (my favorite time of year was when you could get cartons of oranges from Costco, we’d have fresh squeezed juice) and Sundays were usually pancakes with bacon. It didn’t matter that it was predictable because it was delicious and my favorite time of the week. My parents would usually get my brother and I involved in helping prepare breakfast, so we both learned at an early age how to cook and associated it with good memories.

My mom started making this recipe when I was about 10 years old. She really liked it because it made delicious pancakes, but didn’t keep her chained to the stove flipping pancakes and struggling to keep the first half of her batch warm while she finished the rest. I like it for the same reasons, the only problem I run into is it can be a bit tricky to get the pancakes to “fluff” up, but after some experimenting I think I found some tricks to consistently get delicious and fluffy pancakes.

Bon appetit!

 Fluffy Oven Pancakes

Ingredients

  • ½ cup flour
  • 3 eggs
  • ½ cup milk
  • 4 tablespoons melted butter)
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon salt

Optional:

  • Bite-size pieces of fruit of your choice
  • Sugar
  • Butter
  • Whipped cream
  • Maple syrup

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 450 degrees, place baking dishes in the oven to warm (this helps the pancakes fluff)
  • Beat eggs then add mix in milk, 2 tablespoons melted butter, salt, and sugar
  • Add flour to the mixture (careful not to overbeat)
  • Take remaining 2 tablespoons melted butter and spread it in the heated baking dishes
    • Split the batter between the dishes
  • Bake for 12-18 minutes (check at 12 minute mark)
  • Top with your choice of toppings

Fluffy Oven Pancakes

Fluffy Oven Pancakes2

Fluffy Oven Pancakes3 Fluffy Oven Pancakes4

Leave a Reply

