Strawberry Chicken Salad with Poppy Seed Dressing

For some reason I always thought that salad with vegetables shouldn’t include fruit. I have no idea where this weird belief came from, but I was pretty adamant about it until a few years ago when I started trying more salads that included fruit.

There’s a fast food chain that has a salad similar to this, I discovered it when we moved about a month before our wedding. I was surprised that a) I really liked a salad that had strawberries on it and b) that a fast food restaurant offered such a delicious healthy option (I looked online later and found it was on some health site’s top 10 most healthy fast food options) so I decided to try making it at home.

We’ve tried this salad with pomegranate vinaigrette, raspberry vinaigrette, and of course poppy seed – they’re all good, but there’s something we particularly love about the poppy seed that has us using this dressing more than the others. Experiment and find a dressing you adore and let me know if it’s not one I have listed – we’re always looking to try new things!

Enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 2 stalks of heart of romaine lettuce, chopped
  • 1 ½-2 cups sliced strawberries (less or more depending on your strawberry preference)
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • ½ an onion, chopped
  • 2 grilled chicken breasts, chopped
  • ¼ cup sliced almonds (optional)
  • ¼ cup feta cheese (optional)
  • ¼ cup poppy seed dressing

Strawberry Chicken Salad

Instructions

  • In a large bowl add lettuce, strawberries, avocado, onions, almonds, and feta cheese
  • Let chicken cool for a few minutes before adding to salad
  • Add poppy seed dressing, toss and serve

Strawberry Chicken Salad3

Strawberry Chicken Salad5

Leave a Reply

