Mojo Chicken Breast with Grilled Citrus Recipe

A couple of things happens to me during law school finals: (1) I stop any/all gym activity for at least a month; (2) the house becomes really gross; and (3) my eating habits backslide…like to the point where if there was a competition for eating the most pizza during finals I’d definitely win. I’m pretty sure the local Pizza Hut employees are worried about me.

The exhaustion of finals has finally worn off which means I’ve been trying to hit my new gym more regularly and I’ve been looking for new healthy, quick, and semi-easy recipes to try over the summer while I balance my clerkship with a couple summer classes.

I stumbled across this Mojo Chicken recipe on Pinterest (AKA the best website ever created). You can access the original on The Fit Fork, it’s such an easy and amazing recipe. Kenneth annihilated it in under 10 minutes, so this will definitely be added to the rotation of recipes.

I made a few tweaks to the original recipe – added a few ingredients, baked the veggies and chicken in the marinade, and baked it in the oven instead of a grill.

Enjoy this yummy, healthy recipe!

Mojo Chicken Breast with Grilled Citrus Recipe

Ingredients

  • 3 large chicken breasts – original called for 2 (I like leftovers)
  • Salt and pepper (to taste)
  • 2 large lime (cut into wedges) – original called for 1 large lime
  • 2 medium oranges (sliced cross-wise) – original called for 2 small oranges
  • 2 medium onion (cut into wedges) – original called for 1 small onion
  • 1 (10 ounce) container of cherry tomatoes
  • 4 large, fresh mushrooms (cut into wedges)

 Optional:

  • 1 avocado (diced)

For Sauce

  • ¼ cup orange juice
  • ¼ cup lime juice
  • 3 tablespoons oregano
  • 2 tablespoons parsley
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 4 cloves garlic (minced) – original called for 1 *I really, really like garlic*
  • Salt and pepper (to taste)

Mojo Chicken3

Directions

  • Whisk sauce ingredients together in a small bowl
  • Pour half the Mojo sauce over the chicken and let marinade
    • I put the chicken and marinade in a 9 x 9 baking dish and transferred the whole thing into the oven after it marinated
  • Place lime, oranges, onion, tomatoes, and mushrooms in a 9 x 13 baking dish (omit the avocado) and pour in remaining Mojo sauce
  • Cover the remaining sauce, refrigerate both for a minimum of 2 hours
  • Bake chicken for a total of 35 minutes at 400 degrees
  • At the 15 minute mark, place veggies in oven – bake chicken and veggies for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally-
    • (chicken will bake for a total of 35 minutes)

Mojo Chicken1

Leave a Reply

