Paula Deen Fried Chicken

image7

The first time I tried this recipe I was a teenager and my mom was the one who had found the recipe and made it. It knocked the whole family’s socks off and we wound up having it the following night for dinner. Fast forward to now, I’ve been out of my parents’ house since 2009 and I have never tried to make fried chicken. I also assumed it was hard to make and super messy, I was definitely wrong! This is a fairly easy recipe, but it does require you to be in the kitchen watching the stove…which is hard when most of what I cook allows me to start it and leave it for a while.

I decided to attempt to offset the unhealthiness of the fried chicken by having a healthy salad with cucumber dressing as well as grilled onions and tomatoes. Growing up mashed potatoes and gravy were synonymous with fried chicken and while it is a delicious comfort food, I always ended up in a food coma.

*Cooking tip*
I heated the oven to 150-200 degrees and placed a cooling rack in a large aluminum baking sheet in the oven so I could keep my batches warm while draining the excess oil

Paula Deen Fried Chicken

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs. chicken (cut-up breasts or chicken tenders)
  • 2-3 cups oil (I used vegetable oil, but you can use peanut or another type in your pantry)

Sauce mixture

  • 4 eggs
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 cup hot sauce (I suggest adding more if you like it spicy)

Seasoning blend

  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • Garlic powder to taste

Dredging mixture

  • 2 cups flour (all-purpose)
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt

image1image2

Directions

  • Heat oil in a deep pot to 350 degrees, preheat oven to 150-200 degrees
  • While oil is heating prepare the sauce mixture by beating the eggs with the water
    • Add hot sauce and whisk together well
  • Seasoning mixture: use a small bowl and combine salt, pepper, and garlic powder
  • Dredging mixture: in a separate bowl mix flour, baking powder, and salt
  • Rinse and pat chicken dry with a paper towel
  • Sprinkle chicken generously on both sides with seasoning blend
  • Mix a few pieces of the chicken into the sauce mixture and coat thoroughly
  • Roll chicken in flour mixture and place pieces in hot oil
    • Make sure you don’t crowd the chicken – place a few pieces at a time in the oil
  • Fry chicken until brown and crisp
    • Keep an eye on your chicken – cook time depends on the size of the chicken pieces
      • I cut my chicken into fairly thin pieces so it took 5-7 minutes to cook each batch
    • Place chicken on paper towels to drain or place in the oven to keep warm

image4image3image5

image6

image8

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

