Blackened Chicken with Avocado Cream Sauce

A couple weeks before Kenneth and I got married, I was chatting with my district manager about our mutual love of Mexican food. I told her that I didn’t eat it as much as I wanted to because Kenneth isn’t a huge fan of it. She stopped whatever she was doing and exclaimed, “You’re marrying a man who doesn’t love Mexican food?!” Yep. Marry him I did, in spite of the fact I chose to marry a Mexican-food hater. Since we started living together I have been trying to figure out if he’ll eat certain kinds of Mexican food or other ways I can “disguise” it and get him to eat it. I’m not sure how authentic this dish is, but he loves it so I’ll consider this a “win” for me and Mexican food.

There are a couple of different ways to make this recipe. Most instructions have you fry the chicken in some oil to cook it, I prefer to bake it because it’s a little healthier and *bonus* you don’t set off smoke alarms while you’re “blackening” the chicken.

*Cooking tip*

I usually just “eyeball” the dry ingredients and dump in what looks right to me, so don’t feel like you need to follow the amount of the seasonings perfectly – it’ll turn out just fine!

Also, this recipe works for fish as well as chicken. I’ve used this with white fish like cod and tilapia in the past.

Blackened Chicken with Avocado Cream Sauce

Ingredients

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • ½ teaspoon paprika
  • ¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • ¼ teaspoon onion powder
  • ¼ teaspoon cumin
  • ¼ teaspoon garlic powder
  • ¼ teaspoon crushed red chili flakes (optional)
  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 lime (we will use the juice and zest from it)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped cilantro
  • 1 avocado
  • ½ cup plain, nonfat Greek yogurt
  • Salt and pepper to tasteIMG_3111

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Combine all the dry seasonings in a small bowl, mix together and then season both sides of each chicken breast
  • Place chicken in a baking dish and bake for 35 minutes
    • I like to place metal cooling racks under the chicken so it isn’t baking
      in its juices and is a little more dry/crispy

 While chicken is baking…IMG_3112

  • Place 1 cup quinoa in a saucepan with 2 cups water and simmer for 10-15 minutes, reduce to low and cook until water has been absorbed, stirring occasionally
    • Cool quinoa and add juice and zest from the lime and the chopped cilantro

IMG_3113

  • Place the flesh of the avocado in a bowl and mash with a fork until it is a smooth-guacamole texture (or you can be cool and use a food processor), add ½ cup yogurt and mix well
    • I usually add a smidge of lime juice, salt, pepper, and garlic powder – but that’s just my personal preference

Enjoy my friends!

image10IMG_3114

Leave a Reply

