Quick & Easy Mexican Rice Bowl

Currently, it is the last weekend of winter break, so I’m hitting the books diligently working on first day assignments. Un/fortunately, my break ended early thanks to moot court – this is my researching break. It’s fun and interesting, but very time intensive. That being said I am going to post recipes every other week so I can give my school work the attention it deserves requires. With my break at its end and homework already piling up, I decided to make this yummy, quick, and easy rice bowl.

I started making this recipe my sophomore year of college. It was the first year I was “on my own” (not living with parentals and not living in dorms) and I started throwing stuff together for a quick and easy meal and soon stumbled onto this gem. I used to make this with Minute Rice so it didn’t require any oversight and it only took a few minutes to cook. I know, Minute Rice is gross and has no nutritional value – hindsight is 20/20! Also I was like 19 years old, so can I use the young and dumb card?

This recipe has grown up in recent years (as in I now use Jasmine rice!) and is still one of my favorites for a quick meal that can cook while I read or research for classes. Even Kenneth, my weird husband who dislikes Mexican food will eat this without complaint (he does his sans cheddar). There isn’t a “wrong” way to do this, it’s basically whatever ingredients you like. I usually have most of the ingredients on hand so tossing this together is quick and easy.

IMG_4120

Quick & Easy Mexican Rice Bowl

Active/prep time: 10 minutes | Cook time: 20-30 minutes | Serves: 2 people | Calories: 460 per servingIMG_4114

Ingredients

  • 2 chicken breasts (grilled or baked)
  • 2 cup rice, cooked (I like Jasmine rice, but you can use brown or whatever you prefer)
  • ½ avocado, diced
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • ¼ onion, diced
  • ½ a bell pepper (any color)
  • ½-1 cup salsa (depending on your preference)
  • ¼ cup cheddar cheeseIMG_4116
  • Salt & pepper (to taste)
  • Garlic powder or salt (to taste)
  • Cumin (optional, to taste)
  • Coriander (optional, to taste)
  • Crushed red pepper flakes (optional, to taste)
  • ¼ cup cilantro, chopped (optional)
  • 2 mushrooms, sliced (optional)

Directions

  • Cook rice according to the directions on the package, while rice is IMG_4117cooking grill or bake chicken (I prefer to use a George Foreman)
  • Dice and chop the avocado, tomato,
    onion, bell pepper, (optional) cilantro and
    mushrooms
  • Place 1 cup cooked rice in each bowl and sprinkle spices on top and stir until combined
  • Place chicken and cheddar on the
    seasoned rice (I like to give the cheese a chance to melt)
  • Divide the vegetables among the bowls, pour salsa over each, and serve!

 

IMG_4119

IMG_4120

IMG_4122

IMG_4121

Enjoy my friends!

Signature

Leave a Reply

